Ardnamurchan High School News



04 July 2023Ardnamurchan High School S6 Graduation

Ardnamurchan High School’s Staff and  S6 pupils  held the annual graduation dinner at the Strontian Hotel this year on Tuesday 7th June.  Head teacher, Christopher Millar-Craig led the speeches with the usual shared stories  and laughter and each young person received a memento of the school.  The S6 Graduation Dinner was truly excellent and our thanks to the staff at the Strontian Hotel for helping make this a memorable evening.

04 July 2023Celebration of Sucess 2022/2023

Ardnamurchan High School’s  annual celebration of success was held on Tuesday 27th June and as it is Ardnamurchan High  School’s 21st Birthday, Head Teacher, Christopher Millar-Craig, reflected on the history of the building of the school as the final link in the chain of  small sixth year schools across the remoter areas of the Highlands which were built or upgraded during the final years of the 20th Century.  He shared images of the school being built as well as a video made by children soon after the school opened in 2002. Current S6 pupils, Sally Patterson and Holly Cameron, then followed this with a PowerPoint presentation on the highlights of the year just past.

Major Prize winners this year were:

  • Overall School Nominations Award winner - Alasdair Mackay
  • UHI Pupil of the Year – T-Jay Haining
  • Hopper Award for Excellence in Computing Science for Girls – Christy Macpherson
  • Turing Award for Excellence in Computing Science for Boys – Ross McCorkindale
  • Rural Excellence Award – Isla MacKechnie
  • Lochaber Housing Association Cup for Academic Achievement (2021/22) – Joseph Tait
  • Sgeulachd Award for Enterprise – Mya Carmichael
  • Rotary Club of Lochaber Prize for Endeavour – T-Jay Haining
  • Ewen Gillespie Memorial Trophy  - Ishbel Macintyre (unavailable on the evening) and Isabella Sutherland

View All Stories

sitemap | cookie policy | privacy policy | accessibility statement